Blandford Forum’s fashion museum has been described as “a little known gem” and hosts a wonderful collection of fashions dating from the early 18th century to the 1970’s. The museum is located in Lime Tree House which is a beautiful Georgian house built by John and William Bastard after the great fire of Blandford in 1731.
Lime Tree House was opened to the public as a home for Mrs. Penny’s collection of historic costumes. Ten rooms exhibit fashions and accessories from 1740 to 1970. There is a tearoom, shop and garden. Children’s activities include a trail, quiz sheet and also a replica crinoline and corset to try on. Exhibitions are changed on a regular basis and care is taken to ensure that displays cover a range of historical periods.